lord, i’m discouraged!

I’m naturally craving a long, substantive look into the inner depths of the Hold Steady back catalog, but sometimes my actual life gets in the way.

In lieu of that, a few brief notes:

i. A note from my Twitter, which I still don’t understand but am attempting to: flynnwaslike has started constantly quoting the hold steady. this is bad…

ii. I’ve now made it through Boys & Girls In America twice and my first thought is always: who let this girl sing? It’s awful!

~ by 365holdsteady on September 30, 2008.

One Response to “lord, i’m discouraged!”

  1. Boys & Girls in America, along with The National’s Boxer, saved my life this year, Sarah. I picked it up when it first came out, but never gave it the attention, nor the adept listening, that it deserved. Then I had that wonderful moment of it being so goddamn spot on that I wondered how I ever survived without it. Every lyric has a separate memory & every song has been on repeat for hours at some point; even “Chillout Tent” with its high pitched hook featuring The Reputations’ Elizabeth Elmore. That album is one of the rare few you want to give to everybody you meet yet you also want to hide it away for yourself. I saw them in Ybor City & it was beyond sublime.

Leave a comment